Bite Size Memoir #3 – “Magic and Fairy Tales”

This week’s installment in the “Bite Size Memoir” writing challenge. My childhood obsession with fairy tale princesses.
(Obviously I didn’t become a cynical feminist till later.)

Find out more about the challenge in Lisa Rieter’s blog.

__________________________________________________

Oh, to be young again, with no notion of reality’s constraints upon one’s future self. 

My first aspiration, at age 4 or 5, was to be a princess. It did not matter that I was a little American girl living with a single mom in an apartment whose carpets were so threadbare they rolled up in the vacuum cleaner.  I didn’t even have my own bedroom or my own bed, but I was convinced my destiny was to be royalty. 

I put myself through “Princess Training”, which mostly involved walking around with a heavy book balanced on my head, and daintily serving my stuffed animals tea. 

Though I never became royalty, and the thought of me being a princess is laughable, I did get some use out of that training. My posture has been an asset in acting and dance. And I have a fine appreciation of tea. 

5 thoughts on “Bite Size Memoir #3 – “Magic and Fairy Tales””

  1. I find this very amusing mostly because I was the exact opposite and my family wanted me to act more “princess like”. I hated dresses and would hang with the boys. I hated all “girl” things. I resented the thought of being a “little princess”. But, like you, I aspired to be more than I was and referred to myself as “royalty” quite frequently during my preteen and early teen years. -S. Elle Cameron http://www.sellecameron.blogspot.com

    Like

  2. What a sweet memory. Isn’t it amazing how our childhood minds can transform reality into royal possibilities? I especially like that it aided your future-self in posture and taste.

    Like

  3. Ah, posture and elegance – something we Tomboys never quite achieve! (though I may be a connoisseur of Earl Grey teas!) Thank you for sharing these dreams amidst their context – perhaps testimony to your Mum for not squashing them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

